Reviews



Paulina (Santiago Mitre) Review – Limited Release in New York to June 29th



VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Did you see this movie already? Rate it
Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)

By Sandra M. Ríos (@sandritamrios)

“You say I am amazing lawyer and I don’t care to be an amazing lawyer if what I am doing can’t change anyone’s life”.

 

Since last Friday at Spectacle Theater is exhibiting “Paulina”, the feature film by Argentine director Santiago Mitre in New York.

Paulina is a remake of another Argentine film “La Patota” by Daniel Tynaire released in 60s.

Keep reading


The Handmaiden (Park Chan-wook) Review. One of the best thrillers of modern cinema



By Sandra Milena Ríos (@sandritamrios)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Did you see this movie already? Rate it
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

Based on novel “Fingersmith” by british writer Sara Waters, this is one of the best psychological thrillers of modern cinema.

If Waters could write a work where blends gothic with thriller in the middle of Victorian time, the same novel in the hands of genius Par Chan-wook is a film adaptation unclassifiable, where many genres work in perfect harmony, something really hard to get.

Keep reading




Wonder Woman Review. DC Comics has the movie that any of its characters deserve



Review by Camilo Bohórquez (@cabobe).  Translation from Spanish language by Sandra Milena Ríos (@sandritamrios)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Did you see this movie already? Rate it
Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)

“I used to want to save the world, this beautiful place. But the closer you get, the more you see the great darkness within. I learnt this the hard way, a long, long time ago”.

 

Beyond reactions we had with Batman V Superman, one of the great scenes and success aspects from this movie was the fact of watching together the DC’s Trinity on big screen for first time.

Keep reading


X500 (Juan Andres Arango) Review



Por Sandra M. Ríos (@sandritmarios)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Did you see this movie already? Rate it
Rating: 3.0/5 (1 vote cast)

Yesterday X500 won the Audience Award at Lefko International Film Festival in Greece and this weekend opens in some theaters in Colombia.

Juan Andres Arango has released his second feature film – after his debut with “La Playa DC” that was exhibited in “Uncertain Regard” in Cannes 2012 -, where he shows us another story about young boys, an urban story that talks about displacement and the necessity to claim a space into an external environment.

Keep reading




Tamara (Elia K. Scheneider) Review. A Venezuelan LGBTI film with 9 nominations at MIFF Awards in Milan



VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Did you see this movie already? Rate it
Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)

By Sandra M. Ríos (@sandritamrios)

Elia K. Schneider is the director who has taken this story into big screen that is inspired on Tamara Adrian, the first transgender deputy in Venezuela and an important activist por sexual minorities and women in Latin America.

 

The film has just received 9 nominations at MIFF Awards organized by Milan International Film Festival and Leonardo Da Vinci Film Society.

Keep reading


Logan Review. The best story of X-Men saga and great farewell from Hugh Jackman



VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Did you see this movie already? Rate it
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

– Logan: Who is she?
– Charles Xavier: She’s like you, very much like you. She needs our help.

By Camilo Bohórquez (@cabobe)

Movie stars and during first minutes we see a tired man who walks stooped, disheveled, with gray hair and wrinkles on his face, his eyes are just speaking about how hopelessness he feels. He doesn’t sleep and drinks alcohol a lot in an attempt to cope with the grief. Now, he has an ordinary job, trying to raise money. When arrives to home receives claims from the man who is taking care to his old and now senile friend. The years gone by and what once was one of the most important mutants in universe has left. That man we are seeing is Logan, known as Wolverine in the past.

Keep reading


The Animal’s Wife (Victor Gaviria) Review



By Sandra M. Ríos (@sandritamrios)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Did you see this movie already? Rate it
Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)

Around eight years took Victor Gaviria to develop his new feature film. Since “Sumas y Restas” released in 2005 we hadn’t watched anything from this Colombian director whose complete filmography has been in most important film festivals.

After premiere The Animal’s Wife in Toronto, Gaviria is ready to release his last movie in Colombian theaters next 9th March. Before of that, it will be also broadcasted a documentary (Searching for the Animal) about the filming and story on TV (and once a week during the rest of this month).

Keep reading


Last Days in Havana (Fernando Pérez) Review – Berlinale 2017



By Sandra M. Ríos (@sandritamrios)

Director Fernando Pérez won two prizes in the last version of Havana Film Festival: Special Jury Prize and Best Soundtrack for his last production Last Days in Havana that has been selected on the section “Berlinale Special” these days.

We watch on this movie a story of modern Cuba, the one that lives between the hope of a desired change and the aftermath of revolution and a blockaded country for United States during almost six decades.

Keep reading


Oscar Noms. Hidden Figures Review. A women’s empowerment story.



“I can’t change the color of my skin so I have no choice but to be the first”

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Did you see this movie already? Rate it
Rating: 3.0/5 (1 vote cast)

By Sandra M. Ríos U. (@sandritamrios)

Another singular story based on real facts that has been nominated at Oscars in the category of Best Feature Film of the Year is Hidden Figures, the story of a group of black women who made great contributions in the space race against The Soviet Union.

Keep reading


As if!

— Clueless, 1995